Label-first editorial researchHow this site is funded
Daily Formula GuideDaily Formula GuideRead the label. Understand the format. Choose only what fits.
Menu

Buying guide

Tart Cherry Extract vs Tart Cherry Juice: Label Facts

Tart cherry extract vs tart cherry juice: capsule milligrams and ratio lines, or a drink's calories and sugars, on seven labels read Oct 28, 2026.

Editorial buying guide · Updated · ByDaily Formula Guide Editorial Team ·Editorial policy ·Methodology

Lunakai Montmorency Tart Cherry Extract Capsules, 90 Count product format referenced in this guide

Tart cherry extract on these listings is a capsule with a milligram serving, and two of the three capsule labels print a 10:1 ratio line. Tart cherry juice and concentrate are drinks with a fluid serving plus calories and sugars lines, and none of the four drink labels prints an extract ratio. Compare each product against its own label.

We read seven listings and their label images on Oct 28, 2026: three capsules, two concentrates, and two juices. Where a panel leaves out a ratio, a cherries line, sugars, or calories, this page says “not stated on label”. This page does not convert milligrams into milliliters or capsules into fluid ounces, and it does not compare effects.

Seven tart cherry listings and the lines each label prints

Form Product ASIN Serving size Extract ratio Cherries equivalent Calories Total sugars (added) Amazon price (Oct 28, 2026)
Capsule Lunakai Montmorency Tart Cherry Extract Capsules, 90ct (5-active formula) B0H63PFHB5 3 Capsules not stated on label not stated on label not stated on label not stated on label $19.91 (List Price: $29.95)
Capsule Zazzee Tart Cherry 10:1 Extract, 200 Vegan Capsules B07CTKPKSX 1 Vegan Capsule 10:1 equivalent to 3000 mg of whole tart cherry fruit not stated on label not stated on label $29.97
Capsule Nutricost Tart Cherry Extract, 240 Vegetarian Capsules B07TD6KJS3 1 Capsule 10:1 equivalent to 3,000mg of tart cherry not stated on label not stated on label $14.95
Concentrate Dynamic Health Organic 100% Tart Cherry Juice Concentrate, 32 fl oz B007RC6J72 2 Tablespoons (30 mL) not stated on label not stated on label 70 Total Sugars 17 g; Includes 0 g Added Sugars $32.79 (List Price: $40.99)
Concentrate Cheribundi PURE Tart Cherry Juice Concentrate, 2.5 fl oz pouch (Pack of 6) B0BY9K53R7 2.5 FL OZ (74ML) not stated on label 40 TART CHERRIES 100 Total Sugars 20g; Includes 0g Added Sugars $23.99
Juice Cheribundi Original Tart Cherry Juice, Sweetened, 8 fl oz, 12 Pack B004H3V1SQ 8 FL OZ (240ML) not stated on label 50 TART CHERRIES 120 Total Sugars 29g; Includes 2G Added Sugars $36.00
Juice Pomona Organic Pure Tart Cherry Juice, No Sugar Added, 12-pack B0756W745C 8.1 fl oz (240 mL) not stated on label not stated on label 156 Total Sugars 34g; Includes 0g Added Sugars $49.99

Lunakai’s 480 mg CherryPURE® Montmorency tart cherry line sits with four other actives: magnesium, L-theanine, boswellia, and saffron. Ratio, cherries equivalent, calories, and sugars on that listing are not stated on label. Prices change. Check the listing.

What a capsule panel prints for ratio and “equivalent to”

Zazzee’s line is “Tart Cherry 10:1 Extract 300 mg (Prunus cerasus)(Montmorency)(Fruit)”, with the footnote “A 10:1 Extract, equivalent to 3000 mg of whole tart cherry fruit”. Serving size is “1 Vegan Capsule”. Servings per container is 200.

Nutricost’s line is “Tart Cherry Extract (Prunus cerasus)(fruit) 300mg”, with the footnote “(10:1 extract, equivalent to 3,000mg of tart cherry)”. Serving size is “1 Capsule”. Servings per container is 240.

That “equivalent to” wording is the maker’s statement of milligrams of fruit on that bottle. It does not state a cherry count, and it stays on that bottle. The two footnotes are different sentences.

Lunakai’s extract ratio is not stated on label, and its cherries equivalent is not stated on label. Serving size is “3 Capsules”, with 30 servings per container. The cherry row is “CherryPURE® Montmorency Tart Cherry (Prunus cerasus)(fruit) 480 mg”. A bullet says “480mg CherryPURE Montmorency Tart Cherry Extract per serving” and “Made with CherryPURE from Shoreline Fruit”. Other rows: “Magnesium (as magnesium bisglycinate) (TRAACS®) 150 mg 36%”, “L-Theanine 200 mg”, “Boswellia serrata Extract (gum resin)(std. to 30% AKBA) 100 mg”, and “Saffron Extract 28 mg”. Calories and sugars are not stated on label on any of these three capsule panels.

Concentrate servings that share a word and not a measure

Dynamic Health, 32 fl oz, lists “2 Tablespoons (30 mL)” and 31 servings per container. The panel lists Calories 70, Total Carbohydrate 19 g, Dietary Fiber 2 g, Total Sugars 17 g, Includes 0 g Added Sugars, “Organic Tart Cherry Concentrate 36 g”, and “Other Ingredients: None.” Extract ratio is not stated on label. Cherries equivalent is not stated on label. The page says “Refrigerate after opening”.

Cheribundi PURE, a pack of 6, lists “SERVING SIZE 2.5 FL OZ (74ML)”, “100 CALORIES”, and “40 TART CHERRIES”, plus Total Carbohydrate 23g, Total Sugars 20g, and Includes 0g Added Sugars. Ingredients are “TART CHERRY JUICE AND TART CHERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE”. Extract ratio is not stated on label.

Both listings use the word concentrate, yet one serving line is “2 Tablespoons (30 mL)” and the other is “2.5 FL OZ (74ML)”.

A 2015 database entry beside the current Dynamic Health sugars line

DSLD label 42087, entered 2015-02-25, is this brand and this 32 fl oz size. It lists a 30 mL (2 Tbsp) serving, 70 Calories, Sugar 14 g, Total Carbohydrates 15 g, and “1 Serving Provides the Equivalent of 80 Cherries.” The listing read on Oct 28, 2026 lists Total Sugars 17 g and Total Carbohydrate 19 g, and it has no cherries line. Re-read the package in hand. This page does not explain the difference.

Juice lines on Cheribundi Original and on Pomona

Cheribundi Original, 8 fl oz in a 12 pack, has “Sweetened” in the title. The panel reads “SERVING SIZE 8 FL OZ (240ML)”, “120 CALORIES”, “50 TART CHERRIES”, Total Carbohydrate 29g, Total Sugars 29g, and Includes 2G Added Sugars. Ingredients are “TART CHERRY JUICE (NOT FROM CONCENTRATE), WATER, APPLE JUICE CONCENTRATE”. Extract ratio is not stated on label.

Pomona’s 12-pack title includes “No Sugar Added”. A bullet describes 8.4 fl oz bottles. The panel reads “1.04 servings per container”, “Serving Size 8.1 fl oz (240 mL)”, Calories 156, Total Carbohydrate 36g, Total Sugars 34g, and Includes 0g Added Sugars. Ingredients are “Organic Tart Cherry Juice 100%”. Extract ratio is not stated on label. Cherries equivalent is not stated on label.

Added sugars, in the FDA’s own wording

The FDA page Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label says total sugars include naturally present sugars plus any added sugars. Added sugars include “sugars from concentrated fruit or vegetable juices”. The word “includes” means that figure is counted inside total sugars. The Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g. There is no Daily Value for total sugars.

Original’s ingredients include apple juice concentrate, and the panel prints Includes 2G Added Sugars. Pomona’s ingredients line is “Organic Tart Cherry Juice 100%”, and the panel prints Includes 0g Added Sugars. This page does not split the 2G across ingredients.

Tart cherry extract vs tart cherry juice by the routine on the label

A capsule serving here is a capsule count, while a concentrate or juice serving is a liquid measure, and the Dynamic Health page adds “Refrigerate after opening”. The table prices are the Amazon prices shown on Oct 28, 2026, and prices change, so check the listing.

Next to a drink label, a capsule label gives a milligram row where the drink gives calories and sugars lines. Zazzee and Nutricost print a 10:1 footnote; on both concentrate labels the ratio is not stated on label.

A fixed order for serving size, amounts, and other ingredients is in how to compare supplement labels. Another form comparison done by reading the label is magnesium glycinate vs citrate.

The lines above are as of Oct 28, 2026. The page compares no effects. It is not medical advice.

Product-selection path

Products referenced in this guide

Lunakai Montmorency Tart Cherry Extract Capsules, 90 Count product preview
Editorial research

Lunakai Tart Cherry Extract Capsules

A shopper who wants this 90-capsule panel's milligram lines in one record and will recheck the current label.

Best for
A shopper who wants this 90-capsule panel's milligram lines in one record and will recheck the current label.
Before buying
Confirm the current listing details.

Skip if: You want a printed extract ratio or a cherries-equivalent line, or you cannot confirm the current Supplement Facts panel.

What to verify before buying

Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.

Last checked: 2026-10-28. This page does not present hands-on product testing.

  • Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0H63PFHB5)

Approved sources

  • Amazon product listing (ASIN B0H63PFHB5)
  • Amazon product listing (ASIN B07CTKPKSX)
  • Amazon product listing (ASIN B07TD6KJS3)
  • Amazon product listing (ASIN B007RC6J72)
  • Amazon product listing (ASIN B0BY9K53R7)
  • Amazon product listing (ASIN B004H3V1SQ)
  • Amazon product listing (ASIN B0756W745C)
  • Source
  • Source

FAQ

Does a 10:1 tart cherry extract line name a cherry count?

No. Zazzee's footnote says "A 10:1 Extract, equivalent to 3000 mg of whole tart cherry fruit". Nutricost's footnote says "(10:1 extract, equivalent to 3,000mg of tart cherry)". Neither sentence states a number of cherries. Lunakai's extract ratio is not stated on label, and its cherries equivalent is not stated on label. The equivalent wording is the maker's statement. It does not extend to a drink serving or to another brand.

Why can a tart cherry juice label list added sugars?

The FDA page on added sugars says total sugars include naturally present sugars plus any added sugars, and that added sugars include sugars from concentrated fruit or vegetable juices. The word "includes" means the added-sugars figure is counted inside total sugars. Cheribundi Original lists apple juice concentrate in the ingredients and prints Includes 2G Added Sugars. Pomona lists "Organic Tart Cherry Juice 100%" and prints Includes 0g Added Sugars. Both figures are the labels' own lines, as of Oct 28, 2026.

Is a tart cherry concentrate serving the same measure as a juice serving?

No. On the listings read Oct 28, 2026, Dynamic Health's concentrate serving is "2 Tablespoons (30 mL)". Cheribundi PURE's concentrate serving is "2.5 FL OZ (74ML)". Cheribundi Original's juice serving is "8 FL OZ (240ML)". Pomona's juice serving is "8.1 fl oz (240 mL)". Sharing the word concentrate, or the word juice, does not make those serving lines the same measure.

Why do two records for one tart cherry concentrate list different sugar numbers?

DSLD label 42087, entered 2015-02-25, lists Sugar 14 g for Dynamic Health's 32 fl oz concentrate and the line "1 Serving Provides the Equivalent of 80 Cherries." The listing read on Oct 28, 2026 lists Total Sugars 17 g and has no cherries line. Re-read the current label. This page does not explain the difference.